Letters, Poems & stories

LETTER TO A RELENTLESS MOSQUITO

To all you blood-sucking, relentless beasts :

I refuse to slather myself in 10 percent Deet, or cuddle up to another in the hope of somehow avoiding a bite tonight, or tomorrow, or on any other goddam soirée of this god-forsaken summer.
I WILL SHOW YOU FEAR IN A HANDFUL OF DUST.
I will spread your blackened guts across my white walls – You, and your babies, and their babies…
My bed – my haven, my sleeping place – is a buzzing cave in which you infiltrate and procreate.
My knees and ankles cry out, why have you forsaken me?!
I hear you but I do not see you. I light up the bloodied net with a torch, reaching and slashing at any semblance of you.
I want your life to be short, so that I may rejoice as I wipe the stains in the morning.

Standard

Leave a comment